Eat MTL Locavore

You live in Montreal and want to eat local?

Why a mobile app?

Eat MTL is the app our team always wished existed. We couldn’t find it, so we created it.

It is a tool that allows you to find the food you want, from the vendors you want to support. Eat MTL makes it easy to live according to your values. Find out what produce is in season, where to purchase it and how to cook it.

All nearby farmers markets and local grocers are on the map, so you can get your shopping done and feel good knowing your purchases directly support small farmers. The app automatically tells you what produce is in season right now, so no more reading every single label in the grocery store to find Quebec products. Furthermore, countless seasonal recipes are included in Eat MTL to help you out with those uninspired Tuesday dinners or those weird-looking turnips that you never know how to prepare. You can filter the recipes by cost or time so you stay within budget and spend as little (or as much) time as you wish in the kitchen.

Eating local supports the environment, Quebec farmers and your health. But let’s be honest, the last thing any of us need is to make our day to day lives more complicated. Eat MTL does the work for you.

Eat local without the hassle.

Ten reasons to eat local

1. Taste

As living plant organisms, fruits and vegetables continue metabolizing, respiring, ripening and aging, even after they are harvested. Although they sometimes contain bitter or hardened compounds that require removal through boiling, drying, fermentation or salting, most of the time, they are best eaten as close to harvest as possible for the best taste.

2. Freshness

Food quality also depends on freshness, a word that summarizes microbiological growth, the presence of microbiological metabolites and chemical changes that determine how long a fruit or vegetable lasts between harvest and spoiling. Intelligent packaging, storage and transformation can lengthen the time that a food remains fresh, but eating it as close to harvest as possible wins over packaging.

3. Ripeness

Local harvesting ensures that vegetables and fruit can ripen on the plant, if that is desired. Changes in colour, texture, aroma and taste occur as a fruit or vegetable ripens, which takes place because the concentration of ethylene in the plant increases.

Quality

Researchers from Harvard School of Public Health (HSPH) studied 120,877 American women and men over 30 years to determine how food and lifestyle choices affect weight-gain over years. They divided their subjects into three different groups and found that people who ate high-quality foods maintained healthy weights more easily than those who ate low-quality foods. They define high-quality foods as unrefined, minimally processed foods, including fruits, vegetables, whole grains, nuts and yogourt, all of which are more easily obtained locally. Those who ate low-quality foods, such as potato chips, potatoes, rice, soda and heavily-processed foods, like white bread and sausages, gained weight slowly over years until they reached obesity in middle and old-age. (Mozaffarian, D., et al., Changes in diet and lifestyle and long-term weight gain in women and men. N Engl J Med, 2011. 364(25): p. 2392-404.)

5. Less waste

In a 2019 study, researchers from the University of Guelph audited the garbage of 85 families to discover that households waste 4.41kg of food every week. More than half of that, 2.98kg, was avoidable food waste (ie bread, cereal, and whole fruits and vegetables rather than skin, bones, seeds, etc. (von Massow M, Parizeau K, Gallant M, Wickson M, Haines J, Ma DWL, Wallace A, Carroll N and Duncan AM (2019) Valuing the Multiple Impacts of Household Food Waste. Front. Nutr. 6:143. doi: 10.3389/fnut.2019.00143.) Eating local means less transport and direct purchasing from a producer, which means less waste, and sometimes no waste at all!

6. Reduce greenhouse gas emissions

n 2005, Marc Xuereb analyzed 58 commonly-purchased foods eaten by people living in Waterloo region, Ontario. He found that the food travelled 4,497 kilometers and accounted for 51,709 tonnes of greenhouse gas emissions every year. He posited that if all the foods could be replaced with similar items grown in South-western Ontario, they could save 49,485 tonnes of green house gas emissions, which would be equivalent to taking 16,191 cars off the road. (Xuereb, Marc. Food Miles: Environmental Implications of Food Imports to Waterloo Region, Region of Waterloo Public Health, 2005.)

7. Keep farmers in business

Farmers grow $110 billion of products every years and they employ 2.3 million Canadians. Canada is the 5th largest agricultural exporter in the world and the largest exporter of canola, duram wheat, flaxseed, maple syrup, oats and pulses. (Canadian Government, 2017. Vue d’ensemble du Système agricole et agroalimentaire canadien 2017)

8. Prepared and served by people you know

Anyone looking deeply at food issues in the past two decades couldn’t help but notice two very different approaches in the field. Large corporations, scientists and policy-makers frequently talk about food security, and the need to globally produce enough food at low prices. Farmers, Indigenous peoples and other agricultural practitioners focus on food sovereignty and the need for autonomous food producers and traditional knowledge as a common right.(Charles Z. Levkoe, Josh Brem-Wilson & Colin R. Anderson (2019)  People, power, change: three pillars of a food sovereignty research praxis, The Journal of Peasant Studies, 46:7, 1389-1412, DOI: 10.1080/03066150.2018.1512488. By growing your own food and purchasing it from individual producers, you can ensure that you directly support people in your community.

9. Encourage diverse food crops, which is better for the soil

Many controlled experiments and observational studies have shown that plant diversity increases carbon sequestration because the species’ needs complement one-another. In 2019, however, seven researchers from Lakehead (Canada) and Fujian (China) universities wondered whether plant diversity might also increase soil organic carbon too. They analyzed the results of 1001 studies from 121 publications to show that soil organic carbon does indeed average between 5 and 8% higher in species mixtures than they do in monocultures. (Chen, Xinli, Han Y. H. Chen, Chen Chen, Zilong Ma, Eric B. Searle, Zaipeng Yu and Zhiqun Huang; Effects of plant diversity on soil carbon in diverse ecosystems: a global meta‐analysis; October 18, 2019; Biological Reviews, Cambridge Philosophical Society, Volume95, Issue1, February 2020, p167-183; https://doi.org/10.1111/brv.12554.)

10. Contribute to local economic resilience

Researchers from the universities of British Columbia, Michigan and Wageningen published a study showing the multiple benefits a procurement system that ensured that Brazilian school children ate food from local farms in 2019. They showed that the policy contributed to food system resilience by enhancing family farmers’ autonomy and supporting diversified farming practices. (Valencia, Vivian; Hannah Wittman and Jennifer Blesh, “Structuring Markets for Resilient Farming Systems,” Agronomy for Sustainable Development (2019) 39: 25 https://doi.org/10.1007/s13593-019-0572-4.)

Thanks to:

en_CAEnglish (Canada)

MTL On Mange Locavore

Vous habitez à Montréal et vous voulez soutenir les producteurs d’ici?

Pourquoi une application mobile?

MTL on Mange est l’application que notre équipe a toujours voulu avoir. Nous ne l’avons pas trouvé, alors nous l’avons créé.

C’est un outil qui vous permet de trouver les aliments que vous voulez, auprès des vendeurs que vous voulez soutenir. MTL on Mange rend cela facile de vivre selon vos valeurs. Découvrez quels produits sont de saison, où les acheter et comment les cuisiner.

Tous les marchés fermiers et épiciers locaux à proximité sont sur la carte, vous pouvez donc faire votre épicerie tout en sachant que vos achats soutiennent directement les petits agriculteurs. L’application vous indique automatiquement quels produits sont en saison présentement, alors plus besoin de lire chaque étiquette pour trouver les produits québécois! De plus, d’innombrables recettes saisonnières sont incluses dans MTL on Mange pour vous aider avec ces soupers rapides du mardi ou avec ces navets étranges que vous ne savez jamais comment préparer. Vous pouvez filtrer les recettes par coût ou par temps afin de respecter votre budget et de passer aussi peu (ou autant) de temps que vous le souhaitez dans la cuisine.

Manger local soutient l’environnement, les agriculteurs québécois et votre santé. Mais soyons honnêtes, la dernière chose dont nous avons besoin c’est de rendre notre vie quotidienne plus compliquée. MTL on Mange fait le travail pour vous.

Mangeons local, sans se casser la tête.

Dix raisons de manger local

1. Goût

En tant qu’organismes végétaux vivants, les fruits et légumes continuent à se métaboliser, à respirer, à mûrir et à vieillir, même après avoir été récoltés. Bien qu’ils contiennent parfois des composés amers ou durcis qui doivent être éliminés par ébullition, séchage, fermentation ou salage, la plupart du temps, il est préférable de les consommer le plus près possible de la récolte pour obtenir le meilleur goût.

2. Fraîcheur

La qualité des aliments dépend également de la fraîcheur, un mot qui résume la croissance microbiologique, la présence de métabolites microbiologiques et les changements chimiques qui déterminent combien de temps un fruit ou un légume peut durer, entre la récolte et la détérioration. L’emballage, la transformation et le stockage intelligents peuvent prolonger la durée pendant laquelle un aliment reste frais… mais le manger aussi près que possible de la récolte l’emporte sur l’emballage.

3. Maturité

La récolte locale garantit que les légumes et les fruits peuvent mûrir sur la plante, si cela est souhaité. Les changements de couleur, de texture, d’arôme et de goût se produisent à mesure que le fruit ou le légume mûrit, ce qui est le résultat d’une augmentation de la concentration d’éthylène dans la plante.

4. Qualité

Des chercheurs du Harvard School of Public Health (HSPH) ont étudié 120 877 femmes et hommes américains sur 30 ans pour déterminer l’incidence des choix alimentaires et du mode de vie sur la prise de poids au fil des ans. Ils ont divisé leurs sujets en trois groupes différents et ont constaté que les personnes qui mangeaient des aliments de haute qualité maintenaient un poids santé plus facilement que celles qui mangeaient des aliments de mauvaise qualité. Ils définissent les aliments de haute qualité comme des aliments non raffinés et peu transformés, y compris les fruits, les légumes, les grains entiers, les noix et le yogourt, qui sont tous plus facilement obtenus localement. Ceux qui mangeaient des aliments de mauvaise qualité, tels que les croustilles, les pommes de terre, le riz, les sodas et les aliments fortement transformés, comme le pain blanc et les saucisses, ont pris du poids lentement au fil des ans, jusqu’à ce qu’ils atteignent l’obésité à un âge moyen et avancé. (Mozaffarian, D., et al., Changes in diet and lifestyle and long-term weight gain in women and men. N Engl J Med, 2011. 364(25): p. 2392-404.)

5. Moins de déchets

Dans une étude de 2019, des chercheurs de l’Université de Guelph ont vérifié les ordures de 85 familles pour découvrir que les ménages gaspillent 4,41 kg de nourriture chaque semaine. Plus de la moitié de cette quantité, soit 2,98 kg, représentait un gaspillage alimentaire évitable (c’est-à-dire du pain, des céréales et des fruits et légumes entiers plutôt que de la peau, des os, des graines, etc.) (von Massow M, Parizeau K, Gallant M, Wickson M, Haines J, Ma DWL, Wallace A, Carroll N and Duncan AM (2019) Valuing the Multiple Impacts of Household Food Waste. Front. Nutr. 6:143. doi: 10.3389/fnut.2019.00143.) Puisque les produits locaux requièrent moins de transport du producteur jusqu’au consommateur, moins d’emballage est également nécessaire. L’emballage peut même être entièrement supprimé de l’équation en achetant directement au producteur, comme c’est le cas aux marchés publics.

6. Réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre

En 2005, Marc Xuereb a analysé 58 aliments couramment achetés et consommés par des habitants de la région de Waterloo, en Ontario. Il a constaté que la nourriture parcourait 4 497 kilomètres et représentait 51 709 tonnes d’émissions de gaz à effet de serre chaque année. Il a avancé que si tous les aliments pouvaient être remplacés par des produits similaires cultivés dans le sud-ouest de l’Ontario, il serait possible d’économiser 49 485 tonnes d’émissions de gaz à effet de serre, ce qui équivaut au retrait de 16 191 voitures de la circulation. (Xuereb, Marc. Food Miles: Environmental Implications of Food Imports to Waterloo Region, Region of Waterloo Public Health, 2005.)

7. Gardez les agriculteurs en activité

Les agriculteurs produisent pour 110 milliards de dollars de produits chaque année et ils emploient 2,3 millions de Canadiens. Le Canada est le cinquième exportateur agricole au monde et le plus grand exportateur de canola, de blé dur, de graines de lin, de sirop d’érable, d’avoine et de légumineuses. (Gouvernement du Canada, 2017, Vue d’ensemble du Système agricole et agroalimentaire canadien 2017)

8. Des aliments préparés et servis par des personnes que vous connaissez

Quiconque s’intéressant de près aux problèmes alimentaires au cours des deux dernières décennies ne peut s’empêcher de remarquer deux approches très différentes sur le terrain. Les grandes entreprises, les scientifiques et les décideurs politiques parlent fréquemment de la sécurité alimentaire et de la nécessité de produire suffisamment de nourriture à bas prix, dans le monde. Les agriculteurs, les peuples autochtones et les autres praticiens agricoles se concentrent sur la souveraineté alimentaire et le besoin de producteurs alimentaires autonomes et de connaissances traditionnelles en tant que droit commun. (Charles Z. Levkoe, Josh Brem-Wilson & Colin R. Anderson (2019) People, power, change: three pillars of a food sovereignty research praxis, The Journal of Peasant Studies, 46:7, 1389-1412, DOI: 10.1080/03066150.2018.1512488.) En cultivant votre propre nourriture et en l’achetant à des producteurs individuels, vous pouvez vous assurer de soutenir directement les personnes de votre communauté.

9. Encourager la diversité des cultures vivrières, ce qui est meilleur pour le sol

De nombreuses expériences contrôlées et études d’observation ont montré que la diversité des plantes augmente la séquestration du carbone, parce que les besoins des espèces se complètent. En 2019, cependant, sept chercheurs des universités de Lakehead (Canada) et Fujian (Chine) se sont demandé si la diversité végétale pouvait également augmenter le carbone organique du sol. Ils ont analysé les résultats de 1001 études issues de 121 publications pour montrer que le carbone organique du sol est en effet en moyenne entre 5 et 8% plus élevé dans les mélanges d’espèces que dans les monocultures. (Chen, Xinli, Han Y. H. Chen, Chen Chen, Zilong Ma, Eric B. Searle, Zaipeng Yu and Zhiqun Huang; Effects of plant diversity on soil carbon in diverse ecosystems: a global meta‐analysis; October 18, 2019; Biological Reviews, Cambridge Philosophical Society, Volume95, Issue1, February 2020, p167-183; https://doi.org/10.1111/brv.12554.)

10. Contribuer à la résilience économique locale

En 2019, des chercheurs des universités de la Colombie-Britannique, du Michigan et de Wageningen ont publié une étude démontrant les multiples avantages d’un système d’approvisionnement qui garantissait que les écoliers brésiliens mangeaient des aliments provenant de fermes locales. Ils ont montré que la politique contribuait à la résilience du système alimentaire en privilégiant les agriculteurs familiaux. (Valencia, Vivian; Hannah Wittman and Jennifer Blesh, “Structuring Markets for Resilient Farming Systems,” Agronomy for Sustainable Development (2019) 39: 25 https://doi.org/10.1007/s13593-019-0572-4.)

Merci à :

fr_CAFrançais du Canada